information e-mail -- telephone: 01592 840 215






Portmoak Priory





Chairman Patrick Milne Home

Annual Awards:-
Best Kept Village Award
Architectural Award
Environmental Award
In 1966 an Award for the Best Kept Kinross-shire Village was initiated by Sir Robert Stewart of Arndean, Lord Lieutenant of Kinross-shire, under the auspices of Kinross Burgh Council. In 1997 the organisation of the competition was delegated to the Kinross-shire Civic Trust. The Award was and continues to encourage a pride in the environment of each settlement and also helps maintain the identity of the old county. This philosophy was extended to two further Awards; for Architecture in 1991 and for the Environment in 1993.

Best Kept Village Awards

The first Competition in 1966 was won by Milnathort, at that time a comparatively small community. Many more settlements now enter and since 1998 the competition has been run in two parts, with categories for hamlets as well as villages.
The settlements which have entered over the years are:-
Crook of Devon
Easter Balgedie
Keltybridge & Marybugh
Wester Balgedie

There is a cast iron plaque and a trophy for the winner of each category, to display for the following year and runners up are presented with a certificate. The Village winners receive the Lena Graham Cup and the Hamlet winners receive the Donald Erskine Cup.
In celebration of the 40th anniversary of the competition in 2006 Sir Robert Stewart donated a new cup for the Most Improved Village or Hamlet

Entries are taken during April and May each year and three judges, from outside the County if possible, are appointed to visit each village around the second week in July.

Architectural Awards Scheme

The Architectural Award was first instigated in 1991 and was initiated to give recognition to the architect to reflect how they have responded to the brief in their design and construction work. The Award alternates between New Build and Conservation, Conversion or Extension projects, on an approximately bi-annual basis. Entries from both private and public projects are encouraged. The awards are made in respect of the buildings but, of course, credit is attached to all those associated with the projects. The assessment is undertaken by an independent panel of judges, who are eminent in their field and knowledge of design. Applications are welcome from architects, other interested parties or owners, whose permission must, in any event, be obtained.

The next competition will run in 2016 and will be for any NEW BUILDING completed between January 2010 and April 2016.

Conditions of Entry and application form (as pdf) or application form (as .doc) are available on this website or from Robert Galbraith, for Kinross-shire Civic Trust Awards Committee, Garden Cottage, Ledlanet, Kinross-shire, KY13 0RR.

Environmental Awards Scheme

Environmental Award In order to stimulate local public interest in and care for the environment, the Trust offers an award which is designed to promote and encourage environmental improvement schemes, including the planting of woodland and the management of existing woodland.

The Shield is a local piece of bur elm with winners names embossed onto silver leaves.

The area of the competition is the old county of Kinross-shire and Glenfarg Parish and takes place approximately every four years. The last competition ran in 2014.

Entries may comprise any area between 0.1 and 10 hectares in size.

The Judges will be looking for schemes of an environmental nature, including woodland planting and management of land or woodland which include some of the following:-
• Fit into the landscape
• Promote the growth of good quality timber
• Are well maintained
• Utilize native species
• Help maintain the diversity of wildlife
• Accommodate recreational use, such as footpaths/sporting
• Help minimise soil erosion